Reflection

Annie RueIt’s been a couple weeks since the tour ended.  I now have a job lined up, and I released my EP (now several months late:)

Looking back on it all, it doesn’t seem real.  I was so afraid of going out there alone.  I was so anxious to find….something.  What I found was myself.  Well, let me rephrase that.  I was there all along, making music for a special reason, making art, wanting to meet people and travel, and this tour was a manifestation of all those things.  It was a realization that I have the power to do what I dream of, and there is no end goal, just the experience.  I was afraid the tour had to mean something.  People kept telling me it had to.  In a way, their questions helped me develop the tour enough to kind of prove to them it was legitimate.

And it was.  But you know what- there are so many amazing musicians out there that haven’t caught a “break”.  They set up every night on the street and play half because they hope for something, the greater half because they NEED to.

We all have things we love to do- things that move us and make us feel alive.  For me, music and drawing are those things.  This tour was and will be one of the best experiences of my life.  I hope you all give yourself time to do the things you love.  You are worth that.  It doesn’t HAVE  to mean anything.  But if you make it mean something then…that can help.  Planning will only make it easier.

Below are some drawings for the tour.  I will keep the sketch journal forever.  It has many sad moments, and lots of silly ones, some entires feel like strangers, and some like friends.

I love my music and the music that comes out of everyone else.  It’s part of their story.  Please, in someway, tell your story.  It helps all of us and makes the world a kinder place.

 

Annie

unnamed-2unnamed-1

 

 

One thought on “Reflection

  1. Thank you for sharing your experiences…I know their is more to come I love that drawing right above here. I see a children’s book in the making. Yes I do! You are so talented Annie. I am proud to know you!

Leave a Reply

