Pushing Yourself

I’ve settled into my new little job nicely.  I love it, and I love what I do.  But there’s a little voice that is reminding me to make music. “What about that song you wrote?” I usually turn away and shrug it off.  “I’ll get to it later this week.”  But I don’t.   It’s been a few months, and I know it’s time to get back out there.  I hate to say it because it sounds kind of pretentious, but music is a….. well, as Joe Pug said it, “Shut up with what you’ve chosen, you’ll hear something choosing you.”  I listened to that lyric the whole time I was out on my tour and it was one of the few things that got me through it.  I have to say, that whole experience wasn’t easy, and I’ve been afraid to play a show since.  I’ve barely touched my guitar this year. It’s time.  I have a show at Silo’s in Napa at the end of this month (info on the “tour” page).  I’ve been wanting to play there for a while so I’m half excited about the show and half terrified.  The part that keeps me forging ahead is the fact that I’ve been trying to play there for three years- I can’t chicken out now!!  I also just booked a show at Red Rock Coffee in Mountain View, CA.  It’s a Friday night, and I’m going to make myself do it.  I think the key to all of this is to play a show after a long stretch of weird, touring gigs, have a grand old time, and remember why I love music.  Right now all I remember are all the difficult emotions, the feelings that I’d soon forget except they are what got me here to this new place where I’m doing exactly what I want to be doing.

Annie Rue sing songwriter folk female artist
Me an my dear friend, Lora, whom I miss greatly.

Thank you tour for turning everything upside down.  Here’s to pushing yourself to follow your hearts desire, even when your hear is a little sprained from a few falls.  Here’s to the people who have touched me (in the non creepy way) and encouraged me to keep going!!

2 thoughts on “Pushing Yourself

  1. O.K. Andrea! You better get back out there! The world is waiting for you! You just don’t understand how talented you are! The Sound of Music was just a little rest time. You need to share that beautiful voice with more than just Sonoma etc. I believe in you!

  2. Yay for being creative! It does make it difficult to focus when you have so many choices. The boy was mumbling in the kitchen last night when he was cooking dinner. “Should I go into art, or robotics, or culinary arts or….” But what a wonderful world to be in to have such choices. 🙂

Leave a Reply

